Results from the 8-Ball Final

1st Place-Evan Burgess, Lucky Horseshoe Caballeros
2nd Place-Mike Maxwell, Route 101 Rawhides
3rd Place-Thayer McDougle, Lucky Horseshoe Caballeros
4th Place-Andrew Creech, Cafe Ballbusters

Sample Ballot

See below the sample ballot for next week’s election. You will be sent a link in email this Sunday evening, April 14th. Use this link to access our official ballot and please vote. If you do not receive the link on Sunday, that means we do not have your email address. In that case, please contact Joan Pettijohn, at with your current email address and I will get the link to you. The survey will be closed on Wednesday night.

1. Who is your choice for SFPA Board President?
Joan Pettijohn, Cinch Pack
` Erik Proctor, Cafeholics

2. Who is your choice for SFPA Board Secretary?
Jerry Ervin, Café Strikes Again

3. Who is your choice for SFPA Co-Head Referee
Stern Montoya, Ice Willows
Skip Perry, Tandy Tokers
Nick Lansdown, Lucky Horseshoe Caballeros

4. Who is your choice for SFPA Member-at-Large?
Troy Brunet, Hole in the Wall Bangers

5. What is your choice for Best Host Bar?
Dovre Club
Harry Harrington’s
Hole in the Wall
Lone Star
Lucky Horseshoe
Naked Lunch
Pilsner Inn
Route 101
Slate Bar
The Café
The Cinch
Napper Tandy
Wild Side West

6. Who is your choice for the Jim Tingle Sportsmanship Award? This is awarded each season to a league member who has consistently exhibited a good sporting attitude. (League nominations; Board vote)
Write in_________________________________

7. The Luby Tournament was created for newer and/or less experienced players. Currently, a player is eligible if they have an average of.500 or below for the previous season or are new to the league. Shall we change the eligibility to require a player to be either a new player or HAVE AN AVERAGE OF BELOW .500 FOR THE PREVIOUS 2 SEASONS? (Effective Fall, 2019)
o Yes
o No

8. The Bernie King Memorial Tournament is a fundraiser to honor Bernie King. All proceeds benefit the American Cancer Society. We currently award 1st, 2nd, and 3rd places to players who are ranked .500 or below and the same to those ranked .501 or above. Should we change this and award only 1st place in both categories? (Effective Fall, 2019)
o Yes
o No

Thank you in advance for your time in voting next week.

8 Ball Tournament this Sunday and Complete Results

This Sunday, April 14th is the final 8-Ball Tournament at the Billiard Palacade.
Practice begins at 11:15 and play begins at noon. If you have qualified and cannot play this Saturday, please let us know asap at so that one of the princesses can fill in.

Final 16 and Princess Points:
Crystal Kelem-Cafe Strikes Again
Thayer McDougle-Lucky Horseshoe Caballeros
Skinner Castagnola-Arteaga-Lucky Horseshoe Caballeros
Mike Maxwell-Route 101 Rawhides
Evan Burgess-Lucky Horseshoe Caballeros
Salvador Miranda-Lucky Horseshoe Caballeros
Jim Neale-Lucky Horseshoe Caballeros
Chris Logan-Cafe Ballbusters
Ell Jackson-Hole in the Wall Howlers
Andrew Creech-Cafe Ballbusters
Victor Ramos-Cafe Ballbusters
Josh Maldonada-Route 101 Rawhides
Nithin Tharakan-Bare Naked 6 Holes
James Horsfall-Lucky Horseshoe Glue Factory
Joan Pettijohn-Cinch Pack
Rick Bradford-Lucky Horseshoe Glue Factory

Princess Points:
Bob Schnatterly, Thom Moyer, Mark Sorensen and Jon Williams have 2 princess points each. Should one of the qualified players be unable to play on Sunday, we will contact those 4 players to see who can play in their stead. If more than one can play, they will play a match to determine who will substitute.

Upcoming Election

If you plan to run for office for the SFPA Board this season, the deadline to notify a Board member is Tuesday, April 9th.
Positions for a vote this season are:

Co-Head Referee

We will post a sample ballot online for you to check out and then on Monday, April 14th, we will send a link to all current members whose contact information we have for a Survey Monkey ballot. We want everyone who wants to vote to have the opportunity to do so. If you do not receive an email with the link on that Monday and you wish to vote, please email Joan at and I will send it to you.
Thank you,

SFPA-Acting Secretary

The Board has appointed Jerry Ervin from Cafe Strikes Again to be our acting Secretary on the Board. We gladly welcome him to his first meeting last night.

SFPA Elections this Season

We are going to do an online ballot this time. It will save time and paper.

The offices that will be voted on are:
Co-Head Referee

If you are interested in running for any of these positions, message Joan at or tell a board member.

Update on Upcoming 8-Ball Qualifiers

Th 3/21/19 @ The Lucky Horseshoe at 6:30pm for practice and signups. Signups end at 7pm
Sun 3/24/19 @ Route 101 at 2pm for practice and signups. Play at 3pm
Th 3/28/19 @ The Lucky Horseshoe at 6:30pm for practice and signups. Signups end at 7pm
Th 4/4/19 @ The Lucky Horseshoe at 6:30 for practice and signups. Signups end at 7pm
(this is the makeup for the previously canceled qualifier #4)
Sat 4/6/19 @ Route 101 at 2pm for practice and signups. Play at 3pm.

We apologize for some changes in times but these are the times that work best for our sponsors. Thank you!